Three sets of initial code readers Three sets of initial code readers
Three sets of initial code readers

Dandelion Readers Initial Code

From £19.95

£19.95 inc VAT

Product Code
Select Option for Code
Select Units
Select Set

Dandelion Readers are a series of decodable phonics based texts based on the progression of the Sounds-Write™ reading and spelling programme. They are primarily for Reception/Year 1 children.

The books have a step by step progression and can be used alongside any phonic programme. Each text is controlled by the phonemic focus in the book and enables the child to practise blending and reading independently at every stage. The texts are not based on repetitive sentences, thus ensuring the readers practise blending the sounds through the word.

The books can be used for groups or individuals. Each book includes a game to ensure stimulating practice of the skills and knowledge introduced at each level. 
Dandelion Readers can also be used with reluctant readers in Key Stage 2. The Activity Packs are particularly useful for individual work with pupils experiencing difficulty in the acquisition of literacy.

Each Dandelion Reader includes:

  • Phonic Progression.  Dandelion Readers follow a rigorous phonic progression based on the Sounds~Write® Programme.  Each level builds on all previous levels.
  • Clear phonic sequences
  • Practice of blending skills
  • Minimal sight words
  • Text on a cream background to make it reader friendly
  • Motivating stories with appealing characters
  • Imaginative illustrations
  • A games page to simulate further reading practice
  • Worksheets available for the classroom

Units 1-10:

Initial Code Books Units 1 to 10 introduce the basic sounds of the alphabet and can be used to launch children into reading. They can achieve success from the very first book which only has five sounds. The Units are available in three parallel sets of ten books. The three books at each level use the same sounds, reinforcing learning by giving children a variety of stories around the same sounds These books can be used in combination with the worksheets

Units 11-20:

Units 11 to 20 introduce digraphs (ch, th, sh, ck, ng, wh, qu, ve) and common word endings (ed, ing, le, tch).

The books build on the letter sounds learnt in the initial units and progress the learner towards two syllable words.

The books also create a sense of achievement in the learners as they master the new sounds and are able to read more complex stories.

The Units are available in two parallel sets of ten books, the two books at each level use the same sounds allowing children to read different stories which reinforces learning.

Related Products